我们的员工

 

理查德·克莱格 (Richard Clegg)

Partner

Manchester

理查德·克莱格 (Richard Clegg)
理查德·克莱格 (Richard Clegg)

理查德是我们生命科学专利组的一员,在生物技术和制药领域尤其富有经验。   他拥有丰富的专利实践经验,与来自英国、欧洲和新加坡的委托方紧密合作,为其准备专利申请,并对申请进行审查以获得全球范围的授权。他还与许多来自美国的委托方合作,向欧洲专利局(EPO)提交申请,获得欧洲专利,并在EPO异议/上诉程序中为其辩护。

自2003年起,理查德积极参与适配体(SELEX,指数富集的配体系统进化)技术的欧洲专利获得项目中,并成功获得欧洲第一个适配体专利授权。

此外,理查德还参与了大量初创和衍生公司的项目,包括通过技术转让将专利组合过渡到新兴公司。在这类项目中,除专利审查外,通常还不断积极主动地为公司实施策略,以及进行知识产权尽职调查,从而帮助公司筹措投资资本。理查德已经为一些中小企业委托方提供了内部支持,他走进这些企业的研发部门去发现发明,从而产生新的专利申请。

理查德拥有下述技术经验:

  • 包含新组分的寡核苷酸技术、治疗学、诊断学和新化学
  • 病毒学,如单纯性疱疹病毒技术
  • 复合糖和多糖,如硫酸乙酰肝素及其在再生医学中的使用
  • 诊断学,包括伴随诊断方法以及用于个性化医疗的新型诊断试验、芯片和测试条
  • 干细胞技术,包括培养技术以及生成用于再生医学的、具有治疗质量和数量的干细胞
  • 新型肽,包括用于治疗的T细胞表位的生成和选择
  • 新型抗体
  • 肿瘤学
  • 吸入疗法

理查德在《管理知识产权》的2014年英国专利审查知识产权明星指南中受到表彰。MIP研究评论说“委托方对理查德·克莱格的印象深刻。有一位委托方说道“我认为他满足了我们许多要求”。他能够在你需要的时候提供服务,他很能干,精通业务且注意细节。他做事坚持到底。””理查德还被公认为‘拥有深厚的技术背景’——《法律500强》(The Legal 500)(2013)。

理查德定期前往美国、中国和新加坡。自2006年起理查德开始访问中国,并在中国建立了强大的知识产权关系网,能够为那些希望在中国获得或执行知识产权的委托方提供宝贵的协助。

理查德拥有剑桥大学生物化学文科硕士学位,并获得“特许生物学家”(Chartered Biologist)的称号。

理查德自1999年起在一家私人事务所工作,并于2003年加入Mewburn Ellis专利事务所。他于2003年获得特许专利代理人和欧洲专利代理人资格,并于2006年成为事务所合伙人。

Accreditations: MA in biochemistry from the University of Cambridge

t: +44 (0)161 247 7722
e: richard.clegg@mewburn.com

Our people

 

Richard Clegg

Partner, European Patent Attorney, Patent attorney litigator

Manchester

Richard Clegg
Richard Clegg

Richard is a member of our life sciences patent team and has particular experience in the biotechnology and pharmaceutical sectors.   He has a diverse patent practise, working closely with clients in the UK, Europe and Singapore to prepare patent applications and prosecute them to grant on a global basis.  He also works with many US clients to obtain European patents before the EPO and defend them in EPO opposition/appeal proceedings.

Since 2003, Richard has been heavily involved in obtaining European patents for aptamer (SELEX) technology and succeeded in obtaining grant of the very first aptamer patents in Europe.

Richard also has considerable involvement with start-up and spin out companies, including transition of patent portfolios from technology transfer into nascent companies. In addition to patent prosecution, this often involves generating and implementing an ongoing freedom to operate strategy for the company and conducting IP due diligence for the purpose of helping the company raise investment. Richard has provided in-house support to some SME clients, spending time in the R&D department to spot inventions and generate new patent applications.

Richard has particular technical experience in:

  • oligonucleotide technology encompassing new compositions, therapeutics, diagnostics and novel chemistry
  • virology, e.g. herpes simplex virus technology
  • complex sugars and polysaccharides, such as heparan sulphates, and their use in regenerative medicine
  • diagnostics, including companion diagnostic methods and novel diagnostic assays, chips and test strips for use in personalised medicine
  • stem cell technology, including culture techniques and generation of therapeutic quality and quantity stem cells for use in regenerative medicine
  • novel peptides, including generation and selection of T cell epitopes for use in therapy
  • novel antibodies
  • oncology
  • inhaled therapeutics

Richard has been individually recognised by Managing Intellectual Property in their IP Stars 2014 guide for UK patent prosecution. MIP Research commented “Richard Clegg is another person clients find impressive.  One client says “I would say he ticks a lot of boxes”. He is available when you need him, he is able, he knows his stuff and he knows his detail.  He is capable of digging in hard.””  Richard is also acknowledged as being ‘technically strong and well-prepared‘ – The Legal 500 (2013).

Richard is a regular visitor to the USA, China and Singapore.  Richard has been visiting China since 2006 and has developed a strong network of IP contacts in China who can provide valuable assistance to clients interested in obtaining or enforcing IP rights in China.

Richard has an MA in biochemistry from the University of Cambridge. He is a Chartered Biologist.

Richard joined Mewburn Ellis LLP in 2003 after working in another private practice firm from 1999.  He qualified as a Chartered Patent Attorney and European Patent Attorney in 2003 and  joined the partnership in 2006.  Richard  was awarded a Higher Courts Litigation Certificate in 2015 allowing him to conduct intellectual property litigation in all relevant courts, including the Patents Court (High Court), the Intellectual Property Enterprise Court and on appeal from the Patents Court or the Intellectual Property Enterprise Court.

t: +44 (0)161 247 7722
e: richard.clegg@mewburn.com
View Richard's profile on LinkedIn