资源

 

授予程序

授予程序

European Grant Procedure Flowchart_CN

当欧洲专利局(EPO)同意授予一项申请时,必须采取一些步骤才能使欧洲专利生效。本页旨在解释这些步骤,并说明可能的时间尺度和费用。本页包含一张流程图,简要概括了英文申请的程序。 授予程序包括两个基本要求:

a) EPO必须授予专利,并且

b) 专利必须在申请人当下要求的任何一个指定国中“生效”。

下文给出了更加详细的步骤说明。

细则71(3)的通信

本信来自EPO,表明了在申请是可容许的。随本通信附上一份EPO建议的专利文本,通常包括审查员提出的修改。针对下列行为制定了截止期限:

  • 批准该文本,提交权利要求书的法文和德文翻译和支付官方授予和印刷费;
  • 请求对该文本进行修改/更正。如果所请求的修改/更正得到了EPO的准许,将签发一封新的细则71(1)通信。如果所请求修改/更正没有得到准许,EPO将恢复审查程序。

截止期限不可延长。由于需要准备权利要求书的翻译,在截止日期之前的足够时间内收到指令对我们来说是很重要的。 在报告细则71(3)的通信时,我们也将给出一份在各指定国进行程序的可能费用的详细估算。在此阶段,你可以选择想要的国家,但可以在专利授予时再做最终决定。为了减少开销或因为不想要一些国家的专利,你可以选择不在这些国家进行程序。

授予决定

在针对批准该文本的细则71(3)通信提交回复后,EPO将签发另一份通信,“授予决定”。这封信通知我们,EPO将签发“授予证书”,并将在欧洲公报上公开专利授予的详细信息。授予决定通知我们公开的时间:这是授予生效日。

授予证书的签发和异议期

当签发专利授予证书时,证书将发送给你。此外,自授予日起后的9个月是异议期,在这期间,第三方可以对你的专利提出异议。如果出现这种情况,我们将立即通知你。

在选定指定国内的专利生效

自授予日起三个月,为了让你的专利生效,必须在选定指定国内采取所有必要的行动。

翻译

很多EPC国家要求在其专利局提交其本国语言之一的全部说明书翻译。要求全部(英文)说明书翻译的国家有:

奥地利 波兰
保加利亚 波兰
塞浦路斯 葡萄牙
捷克共和国 罗马尼亚
爱沙尼亚 斯洛伐克共和国
希腊 西班牙
意大利 土耳其
挪威

请注意,也可以在塞浦路斯提交希腊语翻译。

不要求说明书英文翻译的国家有:

比利时 立陶宛*
克罗地亚* 卢森堡
丹麦* 马其顿*
法国 马耳他
芬兰* 摩纳哥
德国 荷兰*
匈牙利* 斯洛文尼亚*
冰岛* 瑞典*
爱尔兰 瑞士
拉脱维亚*  英国

*这些国家要求只需将权利要求书翻译成其本国语言。

请注意:了解更多翻译要求信息,请参见我们关于《伦敦协议》的信息页。

所有权

许多国家也要求申请人签署的委托书。 要求委托书的国家有:

奥地利 拉脱维亚
保加利亚 立陶宛
克罗地亚 马其顿
塞浦路斯 马耳他
捷克共和国 挪威
爱沙尼亚 波兰
希腊* 罗马尼亚
匈牙利 斯洛伐克共和国
爱尔兰 斯洛文尼亚
意大利

*当一项欧洲专利第一次在希腊生效时,希腊要求所有者的公证委托书。 不要求委托书的国家有:

比利时 荷兰
丹麦 葡萄牙
芬兰 西班牙
法国 瑞典
德国 瑞士
冰岛 土耳其
卢森堡 英国
摩纳哥

公开

欧洲专利在授予时公开。 国家也将公开其本国语言的翻译。

续展

当完成生效时,专利将会在你的每个选定国中生效。之后,它必须每年进行续展,当然,如果你希望,我们可以为你服务。我们直接向许多专利局支付续展费,以实现成本最小化。

延伸国

一项欧洲专利申请会在一些不是EPC会员国的东欧国家产生专利,这些国家称为“延伸”国。在授予专利时,应在当地提交至少一份权利要求书的翻译,连同委托书一起。

费用/预算

授予程序的费用差异较大,也会很高。

费用不仅仅在于翻译,同时也是因为一些国家要求支付专利生效的规费,而其他国家则要求支付公开其本国语言说明书的费用。由于专利说明书的字数和页数,以及需要多少种不同的翻译,翻译的费用也存在巨大差异。

在一些国家,由于不需支付费用,也不要求翻译,只需支付律师费。

第一阶段的费用(处理细则71(3)的通信、翻译权利要求书和规费)取决于涉及的工作量和权利要求书的字数。目前最低费用(4页权利要求书)通常为1700英镑(1950欧元、2900美元)。

以一份5000字的说明书为例,举例说明在各国生效这一第二阶段的费用,在要求全部说明书翻译的国家中,当前费用为每个国家900英镑至2600英镑(1050至3000欧元,1500至4400美元)。至于不要求翻译或可以使用为其他国家做的翻译的国家来说,费用低得多。

我们对可能费用的预算将随同细则71(3)的通信报告一起发送给你。

为了制作预算,我们是在外国律师先前收取的费用和批准文本中的字数和页数的基础上,计算不同国家的翻译、提交、规费和公开费。

我们使用若干不同的译者,这些译者因其能准确翻译专利说明书通常高深的技术语言而被选上。由于本翻译工作相对困难的性质,客户有时会发现常规商业译者的翻译报价更便宜。但是,我们不建议使用那些不熟悉专利的译者,因为一个错误的翻译将会对专利保护造成严重影响。在一些国家,翻译必须由当地专利律师进行认证。

This information is simplified and must not be taken as a definitive statement of the law or practice.  Please refer to our English-language website for more information.

RESOURCES

 

EUROPEAN GRANT PROCEDURE

EUROPEAN GRANT PROCEDURE

This is information is also available in Japanese, Chinese and Korean

When the European Patent Office (EPO) agrees that an application may be granted, a number of steps must be taken for the European patent to come into force. The purpose of this page is to explain these steps and give an idea of the likely time scales and costs. A flow chart  is provided on the downloadable pdf file of this page which gives a summary of the procedure for an application in English.

The grant procedure has two basic requirements:

a) the EPO must grant the patent, and
b) the patent must be “validated” in whichever of the designated countries are now required by the applicant.

A more detailed explanation of the steps involved is given below.

Communication under Rule 71(3)

This is a letter from the EPO which indicates that the application is allowable. A copy of the text for the patent proposed by the EPO is attached to the communication, often including amendments proposed by the Examiner. A deadline is set for the following acts:

  • approving the text, filing a translation of the claims into French and German and paying the official grant and printing fees; or
  • requesting amendment/correction of the text.  If the EPO allows the requested amendment/correction, a new communication under Rule 71(3) will be issued.  If the requested amendment/correction is not allowed, the EPO will resume examination proceedings.

This deadline is inextensible.  Because of the need to prepare translations of the claims, it is important for us to receive instructions in plenty of time before the deadline.

When we report the communication under Rule 71(3), we will also give you a detailed estimate of the likely cost of proceeding in each of the designated countries. At this stage, you may choose the countries wanted, but a final decision can be left until patent grant. You may choose not to proceed with some countries in order to reduce expense or because a patent is not wanted in them.

Decision to Grant

After a response to the communication under Rule 71(3) approving the text is filed, the EPO will issue another communication, the “Decision to Grant”. This letter informs us that the EPO will now issue the “Certificate of Grant” and publish details of the grant of the patent in the European Bulletin. The Decision to Grant advises us of the date on which this publication will happen: this is the effective date of grant.

Issue of the grant certificate and opposition period

When the certificate of grant of the patent has been issued, it will be sent on to you. There is also an opposition period of nine months from the date of grant in which third parties may file an opposition to your patent. If this were to happen we would inform you immediately.

Validation of the patent in selected designated countries

Within three months of the date of the grant, all necessary action must be taken in selected designated countries in order to give effect to your patent.

Translations

Almost all EPC countries require full translations of the specifications to be filed at their Patent Office in one of their national languages. Countries that require translation of the whole (English) specification are:

Austria Norway
Bulgaria Poland
Cyprus Portugal
Czech Republic Romania
Estonia Slovak Republic
Greece Spain
Italy Turkey

Note that a Greek translation can also be filed in Cyprus.

Countries that do not require a translation of a specification in English are:

Belgium Lithuania*
Croatia* Luxembourg
Denmark* Macedonia*
Finland* Malta
France Monaco
Germany Netherlands*
Hungary* Slovenia*
Iceland* Sweden*
Ireland Switzerland
Latvia*  United Kingdom

 *These countries require only the claims to be translated into their national language.

Please note: Please see our information sheet on the London Agreement for further information on translation requirements.

Ownership

Many countries also require a power of attorney signed by the applicant.

Countries that require a power of attorney are:

Austria Latvia
Bulgaria Lithuania
Croatia Macedonia
Cyprus Malta
Czech Republic Norway
Estonia Poland
Greece* Romania
Hungary Slovak Republic
Ireland Slovenia
Italy

*Greece requires a notarised power of attorney for the first validation of a European patent in Greece by a proprietor.

Countries that do not require a power of attorney are:

Belgium Netherlands
Denmark Portugal
Finland Spain
France Sweden
Germany Switzerland
Iceland Turkey
Luxembourg United Kingdom
Monaco

Publications

The European patent is published at grant.

Countries will also publish the translations in their national language.

Renewals

When validation is complete, the patent will be in force in each of your selected countries. It must then be renewed every year, and we can of course deal with this for you if you wish. We pay renewal fees directly to many patent offices, to minimise cost.

Extension countries

A European patent application can result in patents in some East European states which are not members of the EPC, but are known as the “extension” countries. At grant of the patent, at least a translation of the claims must be filed locally.

Costs/estimates

The costs for the grant procedure can vary greatly and can also be high.

The expense is not only in translation but also because certain countries require the payment of official fees on validating the patent, while other countries require the payment of fees for the publication of the specification in their national language.  Translation costs also vary greatly depending on the number of words and pages in the patent specification and how many translations into different languages are needed.

For some countries, only attorney charges are incurred as no fees are payable and no translations required.

The cost at the first stage (dealing with the communication under Rule 71(3), translating claims, official fees) depends on the amount of work involved and the number of words in the claims. A minimum cost at present rates (with four pages of claims) is typically £1700 (€1790, US$2900).

To give an example of costs at the second stage of validation in each country, with a 5000 word specification, the cost at present for countries where translation is required ranges from about £900 to 2600 per country (€1050 to 3000, US$1500 to 4400). For countries where no translation is required, or a translation made for another country can be used, the cost is much lower.

Our estimate of the likely cost will be sent to you with our report of the communication under Rule 71(3).

To produce the estimate, we work out the likely costs of translation, filing, official fees and publication fees in the various countries based on previous charges from foreign attorneys and on the number of words and pages in the approved text.

We use a number of different translators, chosen for their expertise in accurately translating the often highly technical language of patent specifications. Because of the relatively difficult nature of this translation work, clients sometimes find that regular commercial translators can offer cheaper translation rates. However, we do not recommend that translators unfamiliar with patents are used, since an inaccurate translation can have a serious effect on the patent protection. In several countries the translation must be certified by a local patent attorney.

Flowchart

A flowchart showing estimated timescales for a typical European patent application appears on the downloadable PDF file of this page.

This information is simplified and must not be taken as a definitive statement of the law or practice.