资源

 

欧洲地区阶段专利申请:由EPO以外机构担任ISA的早期程序

欧洲地区阶段专利申请:由EPO以外机构担任ISA的早期程序

Early Stage Procedure – EPO is not ISA Flowchart_CN

在此我们给出了进入地区阶段的国际(PCT)申请在欧洲专利局(EPO)的早期程序,其中国际检索是由EPO以外的一个机构进行。我们还给出了这一程序对于在EPO办理这些申请的实际后果。

对于其中EPO担任ISA的国际申请的早期程序,或对于直接向EPO提交的欧洲专利申请,请参见我们单独提供的资料表。

程序是什么?

如果EPO未担任国际申请的ISA,则EPO将在申请进入地区阶段后制订一份补充性欧洲检索报告。

在申请进入地区阶段后不久,EPO颁发“根据EPC第161和162条规则作出的通信”。作为对这个通信的回复,或为了进入地区阶段,申请人可选择采取以下某些或所有行动:

  • 提交针对申请(尤其是针对权利要求书)的主动修改。
  • 支付任何应付的额外权利要求费。

第161/162条通信规则设置了六个月的回复时限。该时限不可延长

在这六个月的时限到期时EPO存档的权利要求书形成补充性欧洲检索的基础并且决定此时应付多少权利要求费。

如果申请人希望补充检索不会受到这六个月的时间期限的延误,申请人可在申请进入地区阶段时明确地放弃对这个通信的权利,前提是,在进入地区阶段时已经支付了全部应付的权利要求费。

在补充性欧洲检索之前

对补充性欧洲检索适用的检索限制是指在 EPO 进行检索之前必须满足的某些需要。在补充性欧洲检索中未检索过的主题将从申请中丧失,但可在分案申请中找到。

EPO将在以下三方面限制检索:

1. 每个类别中仅有一个独立权利要求

除某些受限制的情况之外,EPO在每一个类别(产品、方法、装置或用途)内仅允许一个单一的独立权利要求。当EPO 认为未满足这个要求时,它 将邀请申请人指出应该对每一类别的哪项独立权利要求进行检索。

该邀请设置了两个月的时限进行回复。该时限不可延长且不可进行“进一步处理”。如果申请人不回答,则EPO 将仅对每一类别中的第一项独立权利要求进行检索。在回答该邀请时或在审查过程中,有可能对此反对意见提出质疑。如果质疑成功,EPO将对检索不予限制。

2. 不完整的检索—— 权利要求太宽泛或不清楚

当 EPO 认为对于进行有意义的检索而言权利要求太宽泛或不清楚,它将邀请申请人提交一份陈述书,指明应检索的主题。

该邀请设置了两个月的时限进行回复。该时限不可延长并且不可进行“进一步处理”。如果陈述书没有被提交或被认为不充分,则EPO 将要么不进行检索要么仅检索部分提出权利要求的主题。

在回答该邀请时或在审查过程中,可对此反对意见提出质疑。如果质疑成功,EPO将进行一次全面的检索。

3. 独立考虑发明单一性

对上述1和2中权利要求的正式审阅是独立于对单一性的考虑。如果 EPO 发现这些权利要求缺少单一性,它将仅基于权利要求书中首先出现的发明进行部分检索。

即使在国际阶段没有缺少单一性的反对意见、而缺少单一性的反对意见是在这个阶段由EPO首次提出,这种部分检索亦适用。

EPO将邀请申请人就检索所涉及的每一个进一步发明,支付更多检索费。

该邀请设置了两个月的时限进行回复。该时限不可延长且不可进行“进一步处理”。然后,EPO将就权利要求书中首次出现的发明及已经为之支付了额外检索费的任何更多发明,制订补充性欧洲检索报告。

在本阶段不可对单一性认定予以争辩,尽管在回复欧洲检索意见书时可以对此提出质疑。

如果提交的分案申请包括针对已支付过检索费的主题的权利要求书,则在申请审查期间,为分案申请所支付的检索费将被退还。

4. 支付到期应付的额外权利要求费

在第161/162条通信规则设置的六个月时限到期时,在EPO存档的权利要求书将决定此时应支付多少权利要求费。如果权利要求超过15项,则应支付权利要求费。

对第16项及其后每项权利要求要支付额外的权利要求费。对第51项及其后权利要求要支付更高的权利要求费。

如果没有适时支付权利要求费,则相关权利要求将被视为已放弃。被视为已放弃以及在说明书或附图中未被发现的权利要求的特征将不能被重新引入申请尤其是权利要求书中。

如果所提交的修改后的权利要求书减少了权利要求的数量,则在进入地区阶段支付的任何权利要求费将被退还。

申请人应该采取什么行动?

  • 检索前审阅权利要求
  • 必要时修改权利要求书以确保:
    (i)  在每个类别中仅有一个单一的独立权利要求;以及
    (ii) 最重要的主题在权利要求书中首先出现,以便可以对其进行自动检索,而无需支付额外的检索费
  • 必要时,修改权利要求书以减少权利要求的数量,以避免/减少支付权利要求费。

 补充性欧洲检索之后

  • 在补充性欧洲检索期间对于 EPO 提出的反对意见的强制性回复

EPO 邀请申请人针对由 EPO 在欧洲检索意见中提出的反对意见提交评论意见和/或修改,该欧洲检索意见伴随补充性欧洲检索报告(统称为扩展的欧洲检索报告)。

进行回复的时限是为申请人设置的六个月时限来表示该申请应进一步进行这个时限不可延长。如果针对反对意见的评论意见和/或修改未及时提交,该申请将被视为撤回,尽管通过额外付费使用 “进一步处理”可以得到提交回复的更多时间。

如果EPO认定缺少单一性,则申请人必须修改权利要求书,以便仅涉及检索过的发明中的一个。进一步的发明可在一个或多个分案申请中找到。如果所提交的分案申请涉及在当前申请中已支付过检索费的发明,则在该分案申请审查期间,检索费将被退还。

在回复欧洲检索意见书时,可对缺少单一性这一认定予以争辩。如果成功,EPO将在必要时免费进行更多检索。

如果审查部门维持缺少单一性认定,则在当前申请中将不能让未被检索过的发明进行审查,而需要有分案申请。

如果在欧洲检索意见书中没有反对意见,则不要求回复。

  • 主动修改的最后机会

这个进行回复的六个月的时限也是提交主动修改的最后机会。

在这个时间之后,申请人不再有权提交主动修改,任何以后提交的修改都需要审查部门的同意。EPO的目的在于使申请审查更加有效率,我们可以预期审查部门不太愿意同意以后的主动修改。注意:在本阶段提交的修改后的权利要求书不能与未被检索的主题相关。

申请人应该采取什么行动?

  • 我们建议提前审阅EPO在欧洲检索意见中的反对意见。同时应考虑主动修改。
  • 在用于回复检索意见的六个月时限到期之前,及早准备用于回复反对意见的评论意见和/或修改(和/或主动修改)。

如果规则对您有何影响或有关具体申请您想得到更多意见,请与我们联系。

This information is simplified and must not be taken as a definitive statement of the law or practice.  Please refer to our English-language website for more information.

RESOURCES

 

EUROPEAN REGIONAL PHASE ENTRY: EARLY STAGE PROCEDURE WHERE AN AUTHORITY OTHER THAN THE EPO ACTED AS THE ISA

EUROPEAN REGIONAL PHASE ENTRY: EARLY STAGE PROCEDURE WHERE AN AUTHORITY OTHER THAN THE EPO ACTED AS THE ISA

This is information is also available in Japanese, Chinese and Korean

Here we set ohttp://mewburn.com/resource/european-regional-phase-entry-epo-is-not-isa/ut the early stage procedure for international (PCT) applications entering the regional phase at the EPO where the international search was carried out by an authority other than the EPO.  We also set out the practical consequences of this procedure for prosecuting these applications at the EPO.

For the early stage procedure on international applications where the EPO acted as the ISA, or for European patent applications filed directly at the EPO, please see our separate information sheets.

What is the procedure?

Where the EPO did not act as the ISA for an international application it will draw up a supplementary European search report upon entry into the regional phase.

Soon after an application enters the regional phase the EPO issue a “Communication under Rules 161 and 162 EPC”.  In response to this communication, or on entry to the regional phase, the Applicant has the option to take some or all of the following actions:

  • File voluntary amendments to the application, in particular to the claims.
  • Pay any excess claims fees due.

The Rule 161/162 communication sets a six month time limit for response.  This time limit is not extensible.

The claims on file at the EPO after expiry of the six month time limit will be those which serve as the basis for the supplementary search and determine how many claims fees are payable at this time.

If the Applicant prefers not to have the supplementary search delayed by this six month time limit, the Applicant may expressly waive the right to this communication on entering the regional phase, provided any claims fees due are paid on entering the regional phase.

BEFORE THE SUPPLEMENTARY EUROPEAN SEARCH

Search restrictions applicable to the supplementary European search mean that certain requirements must be met before the EPO carries out the search.  Subject matter that is not searched in the supplementary European search is lost from the application, but may be pursued in a divisional application.

There are three ways in which the EPO will try to restrict its search:

1.   Only a single independent claim in each category

The EPO allows only a single independent claim in each category (product, process, apparatus or use), except under certain limited circumstances.  Where the EPO considers that this requirement is not met, it will invite the Applicant to indicate which one independent claim for each category should be searched.

The invitation sets a two month time limit for response.  This time limit is not extensible and “further processing” is not available.  If the Applicant does not reply, the EPO will search only the first independent claim in each category. It is possible to challenge such an objection, either in reply to the invitation or during examination.  If the challenge is successful, the EPO will not limit the search.

2.   Incomplete search – claims too broad or unclear

Where the EPO considers that the claims are unclear, or too broad for a meaningful search to be carried out, it will invite the Applicant to file a statement indicating the subject matter to be searched.

The invitation sets a two month time limit for response.  This time limit is not extensible and “further processing” is not available.  If a statement is not filed or is not deemed sufficient, the EPO will either not carry out a search or will search only part of the claimed subject matter.

It is possible to challenge such an objection, either in reply to the invitation or during examination.  If the challenge is successful, the EPO will carry out a complete search.

3.   Independent consideration of unity of invention

The formal review of the claims at 1 and 2 above is independent of consideration of unity.  Where the EPO finds that the claims lack unity, it will carry out a partial search only on the basis of the invention appearing first in the claims.

This applies even if there was no lack of unity objection in the international phase, and the lack of unity objection is raised for the first time by the EPO at this stage.

The EPO will invite the Applicant to pay a further search fee for each further invention that is to be covered by the search.

The invitation sets a two month time limit for response.  This time limit is not extensible and “further processing” is not available.  The supplementary European search report will then be drawn up for the invention appearing first in the claims, and for any further invention for which an additional search fee has been paid.

It is not possible to argue against a finding of lack of unity at this stage, although this can be challenged when responding to the European search opinion.

If a divisional application is filed with claims directed to subject matter for which a search fee has already been paid, then the search fee paid for the divisional application will be refunded during prosecution.

4.   Payment of excess claims fees due

The claims on file at the EPO at expiry of the six month time limit set by the Rule 161/162 communication determine how many claims fees are payable at this time. Claims fees are payable where there are more than 15 claims.

Excess claims fees are payable for the 16th and each subsequent claim. A higher claims fee is payable in respect of the 51st and subsequent claims.

Where a claims fee is not paid in due time, the claim concerned shall be deemed to be abandoned.  Features of a claim deemed to be abandoned and which are not otherwise to be found in the description or drawings cannot subsequently be reintroduced into the application and, in particular, into the claims.

Where an amended claim set is filed which reduces the number of claims, any claims fees which have been paid on entry into the regional phase will be refunded.

What action should Applicants take?

  • Review claims before the search
  • Amend claims if necessary to ensure:
    (i) there is only a single independent claim in each category; and
    (ii) that the most important subject matter appears first in the claims so that it is searched automatically, without the need to pay any additional search fees
  • Amend claims if necessary to reduce claim number to avoid/reduce payment of claims fees

AFTER THE SUPPLEMENTARY EUROPEAN SEARCH

  • Mandatory response to objections raised by the EPO during the supplementary European search

The EPO invites the Applicant to file comments and/or amendments addressing objections raised by the EPO in the European search opinion which accompanies the supplementary European search report (together called the extended European search report).

The time limit for response is the six month time limit set for the Applicant to indicate that the application is to proceed further.  This time limit is not extensible.  If comments and/or amendments addressing the objections are not filed in time, the application will be deemed to be withdrawn, although more time for filing a response is available by using “further processing” at additional cost.

Where the EPO identified a lack of unity, the Applicant must now amend the claims to refer only to one of the searched inventions.  The further invention(s) may be pursued in one or more divisional application(s).  If a divisional application is filed for an invention for which a search fee was paid in the present application, the search fee may be refunded during prosecution of the divisional.

When responding to the European search opinion it is possible to argue against a finding of lack of unity.  If successful, then the EPO will conduct a further search if necessary, without charge.

If the lack of unity finding is maintained by the Examining Division then it will not be possible to have unsearched inventions examined in the present application and a divisional application will be required.

If there are no objections in the European search opinion then a response is not required.

  • Last opportunity for voluntary amendment

This six month time limit for response is also the last opportunity to file voluntary amendments.

After this time, the Applicant no longer has the right to file voluntary amendments, with any later-filed amendments requiring the consent of the Examining Division.  With the EPO’s ongoing aim to make examination of applications more efficient, we may expect Examining Divisions to become less willing to consent to later voluntary amendments.  Note that amended claims filed at this stage may not relate to unsearched subject matter.

What action should Applicants take?

  • We recommend early review of the EPO’s objections in the European search opinion.  Voluntary amendments should be considered at the same time
  • Comments and/or amendments for response to the objections (and/or voluntary amendments) can then be prepared in good time before expiry of the six month time limit for responding to the search opinion

If you would like further advice about how the rules may affect you or particular applications, please contact us.

This information is simplified and must not be taken as a definitive statement of the law or practice.