First ever list of antibiotic-resistant “priority pathogens” published by WHO

First ever list of antibiotic-resistant “priority pathogens” published by WHO

01 March 2017

The World Health Organisation has published a list of 12 families of bacteria which are the most critical to human health.

The list is divided into three categories of importance: critical, high and medium.  This categorisation represents the current urgency of need for new antibiotics and is intended to help guide research and development towards developing new means to combat the bacteria most threatening to human health.

The ‘critical’ category includes three types of bacteria, Acinetobacter baumannii, Pseudomonas aeruginosa and the Enterobacteriaceae family, all of which can cause potentially life-threatening infections such as pneumonia, which often affect the most vulnerable members of society.  Such bacteria are now resistant to many existing types of antibiotics.

The full list is as follows:

Priority 1: CRITICAL

  • Acinetobacter baumannii, carbapenem-resistant
  • Pseudomonas aeruginosa, carbapenem-resistant
  • Enterobacteriaceae, carbapenem-resistant, ESBL-producing

 Priority 2: HIGH

  • Enterococcus faecium, vancomycin-resistant
  • Staphylococcus aureus, methicillin-resistant, vancomycin-intermediate and resistant
  • Helicobacter pylori, clarithromycin-resistant
  • Campylobacter spp., fluoroquinolone-resistant
  • Salmonellae, fluoroquinolone-resistant
  • Neisseria gonorrhoeae, cephalosporin-resistant, fluoroquinolone-resistant

 Priority 3: MEDIUM

  • Streptococcus pneumoniae, penicillin-non-susceptible
  • Haemophilus influenzae, ampicillin-resistant
  • Shigella spp., fluoroquinolone-resistant

Read the full details can be found here.