资源

 

欧洲单一专利和统一专利法院-基本概念

欧洲单一专利和统一专利法院-基本概念

2012年12月,欧盟理事会和欧洲议会批准了所谓的“单一专利一揽子协议”,其中包括:

  • 建立单一专利制度(及相关的翻译制度);和
  • 建立统一专利法院

欧洲单一专利(EUP)将是欧洲专利局(EPO)授予的一项欧洲专利,在所有成员国中具有“单一效力”。这将是一项单一、不可分割的权利——就像欧盟商标(EUTM)或注册式共同体外观设计(RCD)一样。统一专利法院(UPC)将为成员国提供一个集中进行欧洲专利(包括新的单一专利)诉讼的法院。

原则上,统一专利法院即将投入运营,并且欧洲单一专利将在《统一专利法院协议》生效三个月后向欧洲专利申请人开放申请。但是,目前尚不清楚何时会开放。

英国已于2018年4月批准了统一专利法院协议,并一贯表示其有意参与统一专利法院和欧洲单一专利。但是,关于在英国脱离欧盟(“英国脱欧”)后,英国实际上是否有可能继续参与统一专利法院体系,存在着不同看法。

除了英国脱欧的不确定性外,德国联邦宪法法院还对统一专利法院立法提出了严峻的法律质疑。这些因素导致德国推迟批准统一专利法院协议,而这是该协议生效的先决条件。

本页内容简要介绍了欧洲单一专利和统一专利法院如何运作、何时运作以及最终能否成为现实。了解更多信息,请联系我们

地理范围

哪些国家属于统一专利法院和单一专利的成员国?

在目前的28个欧盟国家中,有25个国家已签署协议,确认其参与统一专利法院。这些国家正在参与欧洲单一专利计划。这些国家如下所列:

奥地利 德国 荷兰
比利时 希腊 葡萄牙
保加利亚 匈牙利 罗马尼亚
塞浦路斯 爱尔兰 斯洛伐克
捷克 意大利 斯洛文尼亚
丹麦 拉脱维亚 瑞典
爱沙尼亚 立陶宛 英国
芬兰 卢森堡
法国 马耳他

西班牙尚未签署单一专利一揽子协议:原则上,他们可以随时加入,但是目前认为这不可能发生。波兰赞同欧盟批准单一专利一揽子协议的最初决定,但实际上并未签署统一专利法院协议;他们原则上可以随时加入,但已表示只有在该体系启动并运作后才考虑加入。克罗地亚于2013年7月1日(在签署协议后)加入欧盟,虽然尚未签署,但有望最终会签署。

单一专利将涵盖上述所有在请求单一专利时也批准了统一专利法院协议的成员国。这些国家被称为缔约国。统一专利法院的裁决将影响到单一专利以及缔约国中的传统欧洲专利(除非选择退出-请参见下文)。

截至2019年初,已批准统一专利法院协议的国家如下文所述。此外,德国必须批准统一专利法院协议才能使协议生效,并因此在单一专利开放时才能受到单一专利的保护。

奥地利 拉脱维亚
比利时 立陶宛
保加利亚 卢森堡
丹麦 马耳他
爱沙尼亚 荷兰
芬兰 葡萄牙
法国 瑞典
意大利 英国

 

其他欧洲专利同盟成员国(EPC)是什么情况呢?

属于欧洲专利同盟成员国但不属于欧盟的国家(例如瑞士和挪威)没有资格加入单一专利或统一专利法院。欧洲专利局授予的欧洲专利仍将覆盖这些国家,但是与现在一样,这些专利需要分别在每个国家进行生效、维持和执行。

单一专利

我将如何获得欧洲单一专利?

欧洲专利申请将以常规方式提交给欧洲专利局。

申请获得授权后,申请人可以选择所产生的欧洲专利是否应对各缔约国产生“单一效力”。单一专利的申请必须至少在公布授权前1个月提出。申请单一专利将不产生任何官方费用。

当前已授权的欧洲专利无法转换为单一专利。

但作为单一保护的替代方案,其将仍然可以在任何或所有缔约国中分别生效。如果申请欧洲单一专利,对于(当时)尚未批准统一专利法院协议的国家,无论如何仍然需要单独的生效程序。

单一专利的费用是多少?

在欧洲专利局提交和实施欧洲专利申请的费用应与目前相同。

欧洲专利局已经确定单一专利的续展费(请参见此处获取详情)。续展费的水平大概是单个国家平均续展费的四倍。因此,对于通常只在少数几个国家(例如仅在英国、法国和德国)生效其欧洲专利的申请人而言,单一专利可能并不具有很高的价值。

在过渡期内,将要求将单一欧洲专利的全文翻译成至少一种其他语言,这将会增加成本。但是,从长远来看,机器翻译将实现自动提供该专利的所有欧盟语言,因此专利权所有人将无需为获得欧洲单一专利而提供任何翻译。过渡期将持续到机器翻译在这方面的翻译质量足够好为止,最长为12年。

选择单一专利的优缺点是什么?

下面提供了单一专利的一些优缺点对比。

优点

 

缺点

如果通常在至少一个未签署《伦敦协议》的缔约国中进行生效,则可能在过渡期内(最多12年)减少翻译需求和费用。

 

如果通常仅在签署《伦敦协议》的国家进行生效,则过渡期内可能会有更多的翻译需求和费用。

当谷歌翻译被认为足够准确时,可以减少过渡期后的翻译需求和费用。

 

如果通常仅在3个国家(例如英国、法国和德国)生效,则续展费可能更高。

如果通常在4个以上的缔约国中生效,则有可能降低续展费。

 

将不包括在申请单一专利时尚未批准的任何欧盟国家(例如西班牙)。

将涵盖至少17个国家,包括英国、德国和法国。

 

不涵盖任何非欧盟成员国的欧洲专利同盟成员国(英国脱欧后可能除外)–因此,如果需要,仍然要像以前一样在这些国家进行生效。

单一专利将始终归统一专利法院管辖。

 

无法选择退出统一专利法院。
将提供补偿计划,以减少居住在缔约国的中小型企业、自然人、非营利组织、大学和公共研究组织的翻译费用。 在专利的有效期内,不能选择性地让专利在这些缔约国中失效,以降低续展费用。

 

统一专利法院

统一专利法院的目的是什么?

目前,欧洲专利诉讼原则上必须在专利有效力的每个国家分别进行。例如,英国法院对某项特定欧洲专利的有效性或侵权的判决目前在德国无效。这样的“平行”诉讼增加了各方的成本,并且有时还会导致不同国家法院的判决不一致,这是非常不利的。

签署统一专利法院的国家都同意将欧洲专利和补充保护证书的管辖权从其本国法院移交给一个单一、集中化的法院。

这将减少平行诉讼的数量并提高法律确定性,因为有关欧洲专利侵权或有效性的判决将由一个单一法院做出,然后将在所有成员国生效。

统一专利法院中将进行什么诉讼?

涉及新的欧洲单一专利的所有诉讼均将在新的统一专利法院进行。

在缔约国内,该法院将拥有专有权限,可以就与“传统”欧洲专利有关的侵权和有效性问题(即不具有单一效力)以及与对这些专利授予的补充保护证书(SPC)有关的问题做出判决。

因此,一旦该协议全面生效,例如,针对撤销某项欧洲(英国)专利的诉讼将在统一专利法院进行,而不是在英国法院。同样,针对在德国侵犯某一欧洲专利的诉讼也将在统一专利法院进行。然后,统一专利法院的判决将在所有缔约国生效。

但是,在过渡期内(最初为7年,可根据审查结果延期),仍然有可能在国家法院而不是在统一专利法院中提起有关“传统”欧洲专利的诉讼。此外,在过渡期内,欧洲专利的所有人将能够“选择退出”统一体系,以确保有关其欧洲专利的诉讼只能在国家法院进行。已“选择退出”的专利将在整个专利有效期内保持退出状态,除非专利权所有人撤回退出的决定(他们可以随时撤回)。

因此,对于希望在早期阶段避免使用统一专利法院的任何人来说,退出程序(请参阅下文)将非常重要。

各个国家的国家法院将继续对国家专利(即由国家专利局而不是欧洲专利局授予的专利)拥有管辖权。

统一专利法院将位于何处?

初审法院将分为地方和地区“法庭”(由缔约国设置)和一个中央法庭。一般而言,中央法庭将负责大多数与有效性有关的案件,而侵权诉讼通常将在地方法庭进行。

中央法庭将设在伦敦(处理生命科学和化学主题)、巴黎(处理物理和材料主题)和慕尼黑(处理机械和工程主题)。这些地点将在统一专利法院协议中载明。

统一专利法院上诉法院将设在卢森堡。

退出程序将如何运作?

当欧洲专利生效时,所有欧洲专利将自动归统一专利法院管辖,除非专利权所有人“选择退出”。

因此,对于每个欧洲专利,所有专利权所有人都拥有两种选择:

  1. 不执行任何操作(并因此自动归统一专利法院管辖)。
  2. 选择退出统一专利法院。

退出程序具有以下特点:

  • 退出程序仅在统一专利法院生效后的前7年(根据第5年后的审查情况可延长至14年)提供。
  • 退出程序将通过在线案件管理系统进行管理。
  • 退出选择将在欧洲专利有效期内有效(除非撤回退出-请参见下文)。
  • 也可以对某个未决的欧洲专利申请登记退出:一旦授予相关的欧洲专利权,将自动适用退出。
  • 从统一专利法院协议生效之日开始,到统一专利法院实际生效以及专利权所有人能够提出退出决定之前将会有一个“日出”期。
  • 已处于统一专利法院诉讼程序中的专利无法选择退出。
  • 可以在任何时间撤回退出决定(即让专利受统一专利法院的管辖)。
  • (撤回退出决定后)将不可再次选择“退出”。
  • 有可能实现通过一次请求退出多个专利(“批量”退出),虽然操作细节尚未确认。
  • 退出不收取任何官方费用。

值得注意的是,统一专利法院最终将对缔约国中欧洲专利局授权的所有专利(包括单一专利和常规的欧洲专利)具有管辖权。实现这一目标的最早可能日期是在统一专利法院生效七年后。在这一时间之后,避免统一专利法院的唯一方式是提交国家(例如英国、德国)申请。

使用统一专利法院的优缺点是什么?

下文内容提供了一些关于统一专利法院的优缺点对比。

优点 缺点
针对“欧洲”侵权的单一诉讼行动(包括签发“全欧洲”范围的禁令)。

新的未经测试的体系——程序优化可能需要累积一些案例,而要建立一套完善的判例法则需要数年时间。因此,很难在早期就预测成功的机会/诉讼的可能结果。

 

法院将拥有来自欧洲各地经验丰富的知识产权法官——最初将以兼职方式任命法官,以便最优秀的国家法官能够同时为统一专利法院和国家法院服务。

 

即使在欧洲专利局异议期结束后也可以提起集中撤销诉讼。
专利权所有人可以获得法院的早期经验。

诉讼可能需要分别审理(即分别确定侵权和有效性),从而可能导致更高的成本,并导致对有效性和侵权的权利要求解释不同。为了最大程度地减少权利要求解释不同的风险,分别审理只会在书面审理程序结束后才会发生。

 

专利权所有人可能会影响早期的判例法,尤其是可能影响目前在欧洲各地国家法院都不利的法律观点。

 

挑选法院的风险 – 存在一个风险,即不同的地方/地区法庭将对权利要求的解释和实体法采取不同的方法。因此,例如,某些地方/地区法庭可能似乎比其他法庭对专利权所有人更友好,从而导致挑选法院的问题。上诉法院将需要良好运作,尽可能减少法院中不同法庭之间的差异。

 

 

 

选择加入统一专利法院,现有的欧洲专利不会成为“欧洲单一专利”。

 

 

本文信息经过简化,不得视为对法律或惯例的权威陈述。

Resources

 

The European Unitary Patent and The Unified Patent Court - The Basics

The European Unitary Patent and The Unified Patent Court - The Basics

In December 2012, the EU Council and European Parliament approved the so-called ‘Unitary Patent Package’ consisting of:

  • the creation of a Unitary Patent (and accompanying translation regime); and
  • the creation of a Unified Patent Court.

The European Unitary Patent (EUP) will be a European patent, granted by the EPO, having ‘unitary effect’ across all of the participating countries. It will be a single, indivisible, right – like a EUTM or RCD. The Unified Patent Court (UPC) will provide, for the participating countries, a centralised forum for the litigation of European patents, including the new Unitary Patents.

In principle, the UPC will open its doors and the EUP will become available to European patent applicants three months after the UPC Agreement comes into force. However, at present it is not clear when this will happen.

The UK ratified the UPC Agreement in April 2018 and has consistently indicated that it intends to participate in the UPC and EUP. However, there are differing views as to whether it will actually be possible for the UK to remain part of the UPC system after it leaves the European Union (‘Brexit’).

In addition to the Brexit uncertainty there is also an outstanding legal challenge to the UPC legislation in the German Federal Constitutional Court. These factors have delayed ratification of the UPC agreement by Germany, which is a prerequisite for it to come into force.

This page sets out briefly how the European Unitary Patent and the Unified Patent Court are expected to operate, when and if they eventually become a reality. For more information, please contact us.

GEOGRAPHICAL SCOPE

Which countries are part of the UPC and unitary patent?

Out of the 28 current EU countries, 25 have signed the agreement confirming their participation in the Unified Patent Court. The same countries are participating in the European unitary patent scheme. They are listed below:

Austria Germany Netherlands
Belgium Greece Portugal
Bulgaria Hungary Romania
Cyprus Ireland Slovakia
Czechia Italy Slovenia
Denmark Latvia Sweden
Estonia Lithuania United Kingdom
Finland Luxembourg
France Malta

Spain has not signed up to the unitary patent package: in principle, they could join at any time, but this is not currently considered likely. Poland subscribed to the original EU decision approving the unitary patent package, but did not actually sign the UPC agreement; they could in principle join at any time but have indicated that they will not do so until after the system is up and running. Croatia acceded to the EU on 1 July 2013 (after the agreement was signed) and has not yet signed up, but is expected to do so eventually.

The unitary patent will cover all of the participating countries above that have also ratified the UPC Agreement at the time of requesting the unitary patent. These are known as the Contracting Member States. Decisions of the Unified Patent Court will affect unitary patents and also traditional European patents in the Contracting Member States (unless opted out – see below).

As at the start of 2019, the countries that have ratified the UPC Agreement are given below.  In addition, Germany must ratify the UPC Agreement in order for it to come into force and so will be covered by the unitary patent when it becomes available.

Austria Latvia
Belgium Lithuania
Bulgaria Luxembourg
Denmark Malta
Estonia Netherlands
Finland Portugal
France Sweden
Italy United Kingdom

 

What about the other EPC countries?

Countries who are Member States of the EPC, but who are not in the EU (for example, Switzerland and Norway) are not eligible to join the Unitary Patent or Unified Patent Court. European patents granted by the EPO will still cover these countries, but they will need to be validated, maintained, and enforced separately in each of them, as now.

THE UNITARY PATENT

How will I get a European Unitary Patent?

A European patent application will be filed at the EPO in the usual way.

When the application is granted, the applicant will then be able to choose whether or not the resulting European patent should have ‘unitary effect’ for the Contracting Member States. A request for a UP must be filed at least 1 month before publication of grant. There will be no official fee for the request.

There is no way to convert currently granted European patents into UPs.

It will still be possible, as an alternative to unitary protection, to validate separately in any or all of the Contracting Member States, as now. If a EUP is requested, separate validation will in any case still be necessary for countries that have not (at that time) ratified the UPC agreement.

How much will a Unitary Patent cost?

The cost of filing and prosecuting the European patent application at the EPO should be the same as at present.

The renewal fees for the unitary patent have been set by the EPO (see here for details). The level of the renewal fees is intended to represent roughly four times the average renewal fee for a single country. Therefore, for applicants who usually validate their European patents in only a few countries (e.g. only in the UK, France and Germany), the unitary patent may not represent good value.

During a transitional period, there will be a requirement to translate the whole text of the unitary European patent into at least one other language, which will add to the cost. However, in the long run it is intended that machine translations will make the patent automatically available in all EU languages, so there will be no need for the patentee to provide any translations in order to obtain a EUP. The transitional period will last until the quality of machine translations is deemed to be good enough for this purpose, up to a maximum of 12 years.

What will be the pros and cons of choosing a Unitary Patent?

A comparison of some of the pros and cons of the UP is provided below.

Pro

 

Con
Potentially reduced translation requirement
and cost in the transitional period (of up to 12 years) if normally validate in at least one contracting member states which is outside of
the London Agreement.

 

Potentially more translation requirements and costs during transitional period if normally only validate in London Agreement  countries.
Reduced translation requirement and costs
after transitional period when Google translate
is deemed sufficiently accurate.

 

Potentially higher renewal fees if normally only validate in 3 countries (e.g. UK, France and Germany).
Potentially reduced renewal fee if normally
validate in 4+ of the contracting member states.

 

Will not include any EU country that has not ratified at the time of request for the UP (such as Spain).
Will cover at least 17 countries, including the
UK, Germany and France.

 

Does not cover any EPC country that is not a member of the EU (except possibly the UK after Brexit) – therefore still need to validate as before in these countries if desired.
The UP will always fall under the jurisdiction
of the UPC.

 

Not possible to opt-out of UPC.
Compensation scheme will be available to
reduce the costs of translation for SMEs,
natural persons, non-profit organisations, universities and public research organisations
that are resident in a contracting member state.
Cannot selectively let states lapse during lifetime of patent to reduce renewal costs.

 

THE UNIFIED PATENT COURT

What is the purpose of the Unified Patent Court?

At present, European patents must in principle be litigated separately in each country where they have effect. For example, a decision by a UK court on the validity or infringement of a particular European patent currently has no effect in Germany. Such ‘parallel’ litigation increases costs for the parties and occasionally results in inconsistent decisions from the different national courts, which is undesirable.

The countries signed up to the Unified Patent Court have all agreed to transfer jurisdiction over European patents and SPCs from their national courts to a single, centralised court.

This should reduce the amount of parallel litigation and increase legal certainty, since decisions on infringement or validity of European patents will be made by a single court and will then have effect in all participating countries.

What will be litigated in the Unified Patent Court?

All litigation involving the new European Unitary Patent will be conducted in the new Unified Patent Court.

Within the Contracting Member States, the Court will also have exclusive competence to decide on matters of infringement and validity relating to ‘traditional’ European patents (i.e. not having unitary effect) and also on matters relating to Supplementary Protection Certificates (SPCs) granted on these patents.

So, once the Agreement is fully in force, an action for revocation of an EP(UK) patent, for example, will be brought before the Unified Patent Court, not before a UK court.  Similarly, an action for infringement of a European patent in Germany will also be brought before the Unified Patent Court. Decisions of the Unified Patent Court will then have effect across all Contracting Member States.

For a transitional period however, (initially 7 years, extendable on review) it will still be possible to start litigation concerning a ‘traditional’ European patent in a national court instead of in the UPC. Furthermore, during the transitional period, owners of European patents will be able to ‘opt-out’ of the unified system to ensure that proceedings concerning their European patents can only be brought in the national courts.  Patents which have been “opted out” will stay opted out for their whole term, unless the patentee withdraws the opt-out (which they can do at any time).

The opt-out procedure (see below) will therefore be very important for anyone wishing to avoid the UPC in the early stages.

The national courts in the individual countries will continue to have jurisdiction over national patents, (i.e. granted by the national patent offices, not the EPO).

Where will the Unified Patent Court be situated?

The first instance Court will be split into local and regional ‘divisions’ (to be set up by the Contracting Member States) as well as a Central Division. In general, the Central Division will be responsible for most cases relating to validity, whereas infringement actions will generally occur in the local divisions.

The Central Division will be based in London (for Life Sciences and Chemistry subject matter), Paris (for Physics and Materials subject matter) and Munich (for Mechanical and Engineering subject matter). These locations are set out in the UPC Agreement.

The Court of Appeal for the Unified Patent Court will be situated in Luxembourg.

How will the opt-out procedure work?

All European patents will automatically fall under the jurisdiction of the UPC when it comes into force, unless the patent proprietor “opts out”.

Therefore, all proprietors have a choice of two options for each European patent:

  1. Do nothing (and thus automatically fall under the jurisdiction of the UPC).
  2. Opt out of the UPC.

The opt-out procedure has the following features:

  • The opt-out procedure will only be available for the first seven years (extendable up to 14 years, on review after 5 years) from when the UPC comes into force.
  • The opt-out procedure will be managed via an online case management system.
  • An opt-out lasts for the life of the European patent (unless the opt-out is withdrawn – see below).
  • It will also be possible to register an opt-out for a pending European application: the opt-out will apply automatically to the relevant European patent once granted.
  • There will be a ‘sunrise’ period before the UPC actually comes into force when proprietors will be able to lodge their opt-out, starting from the date when the UPC Agreement comes into force.
  • Patents that become subject to proceedings in the UPC cannot then be opted out.
  • Withdrawal of an opt-out can be done at any time (i.e. to take the patent into the jurisdiction of the UPC).
  • It will not be possible to “opt out” for a second time (after an opt-out withdrawal).
  • A single request opting out more than one patent (“bulk” opt-out) will be possible although the details of this are not yet confirmed.
  • There will be no official fee for opting out.

It is worth noting that, eventually, the UPC will have jurisdiction over all patents granted by the EPO (both UPs and conventional European patents) in the Contracting Member States.  The earliest possible date for this will be seven years after the UPC comes into force. After this time, the only way to avoid the UPC will be to file national (e.g. GB, DE) applications.

What will be the pros and cons of using the Unified Patent Court?

A comparison of some of the pros and cons of the UPC is provided below.

Pro Con
Single litigation action for “European”
infringement (including the issuance of “pan-European” injunctions).

New and untested system – it may take a few cases before procedure is optimised and several years before there is an established body of case law.  As such, it will be difficult to predict chances of success/likely outcome of proceedings in the early years.

 

Court will have pool of experienced IP judges
from around Europe – the judges will initially be appointed on a part time basis so that the best national judges are able to serve both the UPC
and the national courts.

 

Central revocation action possible even after EPO opposition period has expired.
Proprietors may gain early experience of the
Court.

 

Bifurcation of proceedings (i.e. infringement and validity decided separately) is possible, thus potentially leading to higher costs and differing claim interpretation for validity and infringement.  To minimise the risk of divergent claim interpretation, bifurcation will only occur after the written proceedings have been concluded.

 

Proprietors can potentially shape early case law, and in particular may have an influence on a point of law that is currently unfavourable in national courts around Europe.

 

Risk of forum shopping – there is a risk that the different local/regional divisions will take different approaches with respect to claim interpretation and substantive law. Thus some local/regional divisions may appear to be more, for example, patentee-friendly than others and result in forum shopping.  The Court of Appeal will need to function well to minimise any variations between different Divisions of the Court.

 

 

 

Existing EPs do not become “EUPs” by opting in to the UPC.

 

This information is simplified and must not be taken as a definitive statement of the law or practice.